Weirdo in the rain!

August 3, 2008


It rained today in Peshawar, not for long but still something is better than nothing. I sat watching it under the shed in the back of our home. The rain drops were falling with loud splat like sounds on the floor. I wanted to get up and stand under the rain like I used to do in my childhood, Arms wide open, facing the sky with my eyes shut tightly. I used to keep standing in that manner until my mom would see me and came rushing to pull me inside. I had often caught colds due to this habit of mine but I never wanted to stop doing that. I was hooked, every atom in my body was in a state of xtacee in those moments, with my eyes shut I used to visualize every rain drop that hit me and boy did each one of them had a story or what! Afterwards while huddled under what seemed like a thousand towels, sipping slowly from my ovaltine mug I just sat and relived those moments for what seemed like hours.

I don’t do that anymore, I don’t remember why I stopped doing that but I do remember when. I was 11 and spending a weekend at my naano’s. it started raining and I just couldn’t go out and stand in the rain, maybe it was because of me growing up, maybe I was getting more conscious of how my actions reflected on me, I don’t know but I stopped standing in the rain from then on.

But today, I again had that feeling, the feeling to just go and stand in the rain. I didn’t do it but someday maybe I will! 🙂 It would be an awfully funny site though! .If any of you guys have some peculiar thing that you do when it rains, feel free to share! 🙂

3 Responses to “Weirdo in the rain!”

  1. Muztarib said

    I love walking in the rain because no one can see I am crying. Read this somewhere. Rain always makes me too sad or too happy!!

  2. shine87 said

    Yeah I remember reading that too 🙂 . Natural phenomena has always been known to cause extreme surge in emotions (Thts just the scientist in me talking after working on an assignment for the last 4 hours 🙂 )
    Btw Welcome to My blog, I hope its not a courtesy visit and you genuinly find my ramblings readable coz i most certainly enjoy reading yours! ( and by that i dont mean you ramble :p ) 🙂

  3. Fauzan said

    Your post brought a strong wave of nostalgia over me too. It’s so odd that we don’t do a lot of things that we did as kids. Maybe we grow conscious of our surroundings and actions or maybe we have just lost that sense of excitement and finding happiness in the smallest of things. I am going to make sure I stand in the rain the next time around! Thanks for a little reinvigoration 🙂

Leave a Reply

